

HIAS 2015 International Nuclear Structure Conference Commemorating George Dracoulis and Satellite Workshop on E0 transitions

The staff of the Dept of Nuclear Physics at the Australian National University would like to invite you to join us in commemorating the achievements of Professor George Dracoulis in the field of Nuclear Structure, by attending the 2015 Heavy Ion Accelerator Symposium in Canberra, Australia, from September 14th to 18th.

The scientific program will concentrate on the latest research in experimental and theoretical nuclear structure physics, with some additional focus on those particular fields of gamma-ray and electron spectroscopy where George made his most significant contributions. There will be a number of invited speakers, with the majority of talks taken from contributed abstracts, chosen with guidance from the International Advisory Committee.

We hope that many friends and colleagues of George will be able to make the trip "down under" during the Canberra springtime for this meeting.

In addition, a satellite workshop, "Electric Monopole Transitions", will be held prior to the conference on the 11th and 12th of September 2015. The subjects of the workshop will cover areas of broad interest related to electron and pair conversion processes with special emphasis on E0 transitions, including:

- Current challenges in nuclear structure studies using electron spectroscopy
- Shape co-existence in atomic nuclei
- Internal conversion of highly charged ions
- Theory of conversion electron and electron-positron pair emission
- New experimental facilities

Please note these events in your diaries and register your preliminary interest in attending via email to Petra.Rickman@anu.edu.au.

Questions about the scientific content of the meetings may be addressed to Gregory.Lane@anu.edu.au (HIAS 2015) or Tibor.Kibedi@anu.edu.au (E0 Workshop).

More information concerning invited speakers, the meeting websites, submission and registration deadlines, advisory and organising committee members, as well as meeting costs, will be sent by the end of February.

Kind regards,

Greg Lane (Chair, HIAS 2015) Tibor Kibedi (Chair, E0 Workshop) Andrew Stuchbery (Head, Dept of Nuclear Physics, ANU)